Question for the class

Hey everyone, I am not sure if this is appropriate to post here, but I was curious, so I decided to post it. Apologies if an open-ended question such as this is inappropriate.

How many of you, in this class, were actually inspired by history classes in grade school? We are reading about how to engage the public in ways other than “academic” history, and I have noticed that quite a few of us have mentioned that we were not interested in history as a kid, and that history class was boring to us in school.

I was actually surprised when I read this, because I have enjoyed history for as long as I can remember.  I was a history major in college, and I’ve always had an interest in reading history books and learning new things about history.  Much of this was fostered in my youth by the public school history teachers I had.  Social Studies (in elementary and middle school) and History were always my favorite classes.  Is there anyone else in this class like me, or am I the only one?

About lindsayresnick

23. Aspiring archivist. Graduate student at Georgia State University. Georgia Tech class of 2013. Loves trivia, dogs, podcasts, and SNL. Perpetually annoyed by bad drivers, especially those who don't use their turn signals.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Question for the class

  1. lspencer119 says:

    I don’t know if inspired is the right word for me but it did spark an interest…it was one of the subjects that I did well in while in school. It even interested me enough to do more than what was assigned. Although, when I graduated and attempted to be a scholar, I never considered history as a major. It is only later in life that I decided that I wanted to be a historian when I grow up.

  2. mekahawka says:

    I wasn’t really inspired by history until I got into jr college. I actually hated history and thought it was boring and full of facts. It wasn’t until I had a history class in jr college yrs ago that history became living and breathing I should say

Leave a Reply

